STANNIX Community


Manual: delgroup

DELUSER(8)					   System Manager's Manual					  DELUSER(8)

NAME
       deluser, delgroup - remove a user or group from the system

SYNOPSIS
       deluser [--backup] [--backup-suffix str] [--backup-to dir] [--conf file] [--debug] [--remove-all-files]
	       [--remove-home] [--quiet] [--verbose] [--stdoutmsglevel prio] [--stderrmsglevel prio] [--logmsglevel prio]
	       user

       deluser [--system] [--backup] [--backup-suffix str] [--backup-to dir] [--conf file] [--debug] [--remove-all-files]
	       [--remove-home] [--quiet] [--verbose] [--stdoutmsglevel prio] [--stderrmsglevel prio] [--logmsglevel prio]
	       user

       deluser --group [--conf file] [--debug] [--only-if-empty] [--quiet] [--verbose] [--stdoutmsglevel prio]
	       [--stderrmsglevel prio] [--logmsglevel prio] group

       delgroup [--system] [--conf file] [--debug] [--only-if-empty] [--quiet] [--verbose] [--stdoutmsglevel prio]
		[--stderrmsglevel prio] [--logmsglevel prio] group

       deluser [--conf file] [--debug] [--quiet] [--verbose] [--stdoutmsglevel prio] [--stderrmsglevel prio]
	       [--logmsglevel prio] user group

       deluser --help

       deluser --version

DESCRIPTION
       deluser	and delgroup remove users and groups from the system according to command line options and configuration in‐
       formation in /etc/deluser.conf and /etc/adduser.conf.

       They are more Debian specific front ends to the userdel and groupdel programs, which are more distribution  agnostic.
       deluser	and delgroup can remove the home directory as option or even all files on the system owned by the user to be
       removed, run a custom script, and have other features.

       For a full list and explanations of all options, see the OPTIONS section.

       deluser and delgroup can be run in one of three modes:

   Remove a user
       If called with one non-option argument and without the --group option, deluser will remove a non-system user.

       By default, deluser will remove the user without removing the home directory, the mail spool or any  other  files  on
       the system owned by the user.  Removing the home directory and mail spool can be achieved using the --remove-home op‐
       tion.

       The  --remove-all-files option removes all files on the system owned by the user.  Note that if you activate both op‐
       tions --remove-home will have no additional effect because all files including the home directory and mail spool	 are
       already covered by the --remove-all-files option.

       If  you	want  to backup all files before deleting them you can activate the --backup option which will create a file
       username.tar(.gz|.bz2) in the directory specified by the --backup-to option.

       By default, the backup archive is compressed with gzip(1).  To change this, the --backup-suffix option can be set  to
       any suffix supported by tar --auto-compress.

       deluser will refuse to remove the root account.

       If  the --system option is given on the command line, the delete operation is actually executed only if the user is a
       system user.  This avoids accidentally deleting non-system users.  Additionally, if the user does not exist, no error
       value is returned.  Debian package maintainer scripts may use this flag to remove system users or groups while ignor‐
       ing the case where the removal already occurred.

   Remove a group
       If deluser is called with the --group option, or delgroup is called, a group will be removed.  The primary  group  of
       an existing user cannot be removed.  If the option --only-if-empty is given, the group won't be removed if it has any
       members left.

       The --system option adds the same functionality as for users, respectively.

   Remove a user from a specific group
       If called with two non-option arguments, deluser will remove a user from a specific group.

OPTIONS
       Different modes of deluser allow different options.  If no valid modes are listed for a option, it is accepted in all
       modes.

       Short  versions	for certain options may exist for historical reasons.  They are going to stay supported, but are re‐
       moved from the documentation.  Users are advised to migrate to the long version of options.

       --backup
	      Backup all files contained in the userhome and the mailspool file to a file named	 username.tar.bz2  or  user‐
	      name.tar.gz.  Valid modes: deluser, deluser --system.

       --backup-suffix str
	      Select  compression  algorithm  for  a  home  directory  backup.	 Can  be set to any suffix recognized by tar
	      --auto-compress.	Defaults to .gz.  Valid modes: deluser, deluser --system.

       --backup-to dir
	      Place the backup files not in the current directory but in dir.  This implicitly sets --backup also.  Defaults
	      to the current working directory.	 Valid modes: deluser, deluser --system.

       --conf file
	      Use file instead of the default files /etc/deluser.conf and /etc/adduser.conf.  Multiple --conf options may be
	      given.

       --debug
	      Synonymous to --stdoutmsglevel=debug.  Deprecated.

       --group
	      Remove a group.  This is the default action if the program is invoked as delgroup.  Valid mode: deluser.

       --help Display brief instructions.

       --only-if-empty
	      Only remove if no members are left.  Valid modes: deluser --group, delgroup.

       --quiet
	      Synonymous to --stdoutmsglevel=warn.  Deprecated.

       --remove-all-files
	      Remove all files from the system owned by this user.  Note: --remove-home does not have an  effect  any  more.
	      If  --backup  is	specified,  the	 files are deleted after having performed the backup.  Valid modes: deluser,
	      deluser --system.

       --remove-home
	      Remove the home directory of the user and its mailspool.	If --backup is specified, the files are deleted	 af‐
	      ter having performed the backup.	Valid modes: deluser, deluser --system.

       --system
	      Only  delete  if	user/group  is a system user/group.  If the user does not exist, no error value is returned.
	      Valid modes: deluser, deluser --system.

       --verbose
	      Synonymous to --stdoutmsglevel=info.  Deprecated.

       --stdoutmsglevel prio
       --stderrmsglevel prio
       --logmsglevel prio
	      Minimum priority for messages logged to syslog/journal and the console, respectively.  Values are	 trace,	 de‐
	      bug,  info, warn, err, and fatal.	 Messages with the priority set here or higher get printed to the respective
	      medium.  Messages printed to stderr are not repeated on stdout.  That allows the local admin  to	control	 ad‐
	      duser's  chattiness on the console and in the log independently, keeping probably confusing information to it‐
	      self while still leaving helpful information in the log.

       --version
	      Display version and copyright information.

LOGGING
       deluser uses extensive and configurable logging to tailor its verbosity to the needs and wishes of the system  admin‐
       istrator.

       This works similar to adduser.  See adduser(8) for all the details.

EXIT VALUES
       The exit values documented in adduser(8) also apply for deluser.

SECURITY
       deluser	needs  root  privileges and offers, via the --conf command line option to use different configuration files.
       Do not use sudo(8) or similar tools to give partial privileges to deluser with restricted  command  line	 parameters.
       This  is	 easy  to  circumvent and might allow users to obtain privileges they are not supposed to have.	 If you want
       this, consider writing your own wrapper script and giving privileges to execute that script.

FILES
       /etc/deluser.conf Default configuration file for deluser(8) and delgroup(8)

       /usr/local/sbin/deluser.local
	      Optional custom add-ons, see deluser.local(8)

SEE ALSO
       adduser(8), deluser.conf(5), deluser.local.conf(8), groupdel(8), userdel(8)

Debian GNU/Linux												  DELUSER(8)